Tome's Land of IT

IT Notes from the Powertoe – Tome Tanasovski

NYC PUG A Complete Success

Sorry for posting this to my personal site, but there are some limitations with the group website that I have to figure out.

I can only speak for myself… I had a great time!  A lot of people passionate about Powershell sat in one room together ate some Idera pizza and dug into Powershell.  We had some beginners,  some advanced, some devy (yes, not Debbie… I hope that’s finally cleared up), some IT pros, and some mixes of all of the above.

NYC does it right…  26 People showed up for a room that fits 25 (so says Microsoft)…. I stake the claim that it’s the largest Powershell UG meeting yet…. prove me wrong world….  A tad cramped, but cozy and close enough for some good discussions and discovery.  Great questions and a great vibe…. Yes, mistakes were made:  I need to remember to have a sign-in sheet, and I need to remember to actually raffle off the door prize while we are there, but with those small hiccups aside everything went smoothly.

The night started off with some ice breaking and pizza followed by a discussion about the group, and a presentation from yours truly about WMI with Powershell.

I will get the slides and demo script up in the next two days.

Afterwards Brandon Shell hit the floor with a true free-form styled discussion about Powershell in general.

Topics ranged far and wide… they included format files, psobjects, modules, functions, cmdlets, whatif, aliases, string formatting, scripting style, the menace and love that is one liners, and about a million other topics (I have a habit of exaggerating).   It was a fun romp through the world of Powershell in an hour from a collective stream of conscious.  Great questions and I think everyone learned at least one thing…. except maybe Brandon who commanded us with an iron fist… ok, absolutely not at all, but he looks tough and commanding in this picture:

I really can’t thank everyone enough for coming out, and enjoying this with us.  I’m really looking forward to the future of this group.  I hope we can implement all of the ideas that everyone had.

Don’t forget to e-mail powershellnyc@gmail.com or visit the website to tell us about topics you want to discuss at future meetings… If no one else wants to present Brandon and I will make sure to continue delivering the Powershell word to you.

Unfortunately we forgot to take pictures at the after party, but we had some good discussions there.  It’s nice to see the passion about Powershell, and apparently skateboarding as well.

Looking forward to the next meeting on May 10th (the day before my birthday).  The meeting announcement will be out this week.  Look for it on powershellgroup.org.

Thank you Brandon Shell, Marco Shaw, Hal Rottenberg, Doug Finke, Peter Laudati, Rachel Appel, Bob Hunt, and Idera for helping me get this first meeting in the can!

One response to “NYC PUG A Complete Success

  1. Manish Patel April 13, 2010 at 7:12 am

    It was really great I learned couple of things like “-out-gridview”, WMI Explorer etc. Also I liked that Powershell has 1 MB, 1GB, 1TB etc builtin special variables. Overall it was great experience. I am looking forward for next User Group meeting.

    Special thanks to you Mr. Tome for arranging this.

    Manish

Leave a Reply

