Tome's Land of IT

IT Notes from the Powertoe – Tome Tanasovski

Where’s Tome? PowerShell Bible ~ June 2011

I have been very busy of late.  I have written two articles that I would normally put on this site, but Ed Wilson reached out to me, and I have decided to hand them over to him in order to reach a larger audience.  You should see them on Hey Scripting Guy! in the indefinite near future.  I will make sure to point them out on the site when they are published.

In addition to that I have taken on the task of writing the PowerShell Bible for Wiley.  I will be a coauthor with Karl Mitschke, Mark Schill, and Thomas Lee.  Masochistically I am looking forward to spending every night the way I have spent the past week – putting aside all other activities to focus my mental energies on the task at hand.

So why write another PowerShell book?  There are plenty of books on the market that tackle the core language and functionality that comes with PowerShell 2.0.   We’re hoping to shine a light on all of the extensions to PowerShell that have been created around the core offering.  The book will focus on 3rd party technologies and the modules and snapins made available by Microsoft from all of their products.  While we understand that each technology could have its own book written about it regarding PowerShell, we think that Wiley’s Bible format lends itself perfectly to bring enough of every topic out there to make it a useful book to the community.  So if Bruce Payette’s PowerShell in Action is the driver’s manual you can think of us as the folder that holds all of the instructions and warranties for the radio, gps, child car seat, and that Bill The Cat doll that is fastened to my rear window with suction cups.

Talk to you soon,

Tome

2 responses to “Where’s Tome? PowerShell Bible ~ June 2011

  1. Thomas (@doctordns) August 10, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Just thought I’m mention that this wonderful book, PowerShell Bible, has an updated set of authors that includes Thomas Lee. Sadly, Doug was not able to contribute to the book. The PowerShell Bible is now written and should be in the shops in the next month or two!

    • Tome August 10, 2011 at 11:30 am

      Good catch Thomas! I have updated the article to reflect this. I wouldn’t call it sad at all. We were extremely fortunate to have you on board and I couldn’t be happier with the results!

      What a long strange trip it’s been.

Leave a Reply

