Tome's Land of IT

IT Notes from the Powertoe – Tome Tanasovski

MVP & Drinks

Many of you may have heard the news already, but in case you have not: I have been honored by Microsoft this past weekend by receiving the MVP award for PowerShell.  I have joined the ranks of some amazing magicians who twist and craft something that is so simple into pure poetry.   In my opinion, this is the crowning achievement of what has already been a very fruitful 15 years in IT.  A lot of my after-hours time has been committed to answering questions in the forums, putting together presentations, organizing the NYC PowerShell UserGroup, and writing articles for the benefit of other people (We’ll leave out the Techstravaganza in March, the Give Camp, and the PowerShell Bible – those are contributions for this year).  Now when my wife asks me why I do it, I can show her my pretty profile (she hates the picture by the way), and say – for the fame!  🙂  Okay, I admit it: I really just love playing with PowerShell, and I think it’s a good idea to make yourself marketable in today’s economy any way you can for fear of not having employment, but I digress.

I wouldn’t be here without your support, and the support of my wife and loved ones.  Fortunately, I am here – so come out, and celebrate this achievement with me!

If you are in NYC on Friday, January 21st, 2011 please join us at Cibar (near Union Square) around 5:30pm til the cows come home.  This is a cash bar event with no sponsorship so please invite any friends and family.  If you don’t yet know me personally feel free to come down and introduce yourself.  There will be a mix of old friends, colleagues, PowerShell enthusiasts, and some PowerShell and community special guests to mingle with, and best of all it will be my wife’s first IT community-type event!  You may drag her into any conversation that begins and ends in binary at your own peril.

Looking forward to seeing some of you on the 21st!  Oh, and looking forward to seeing some of you at the Give Camp next weekend.


Happy New Year,
Tome Tanasovski

 

8 responses to “MVP & Drinks

  1. mark seife January 5, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    sorry tome, i’ll be in vegas. would love to catch up. enjoy the event.

  2. rich prescott January 5, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Congrats on the MVP!

  3. efrain jimenez January 5, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Congratulations Tome! I’ll be there to have drink with you, or two, or three..

  4. Jason Palatty January 6, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Congrats Tome!

  5. Marlon January 7, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Congrats on the award Tome.

  6. Pingback: Episode 135 – James Brundage from Start-Automating « PowerScripting Podcast

  7. Karl Mitschke January 10, 2011 at 11:40 am

    Congratulations Tome!

    About time 😉

    Karl

  8. Gustavo Palomino January 18, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Hi tome,

    Congratulations!! I’ll be there.

    Gus

Leave a Reply

