Tome's Land of IT

IT Notes from the Powertoe – Tome Tanasovski

Announcing WinArduino – A PowerShell Module that helps you dev an Arduino from a Windows box

I recently starting taking the Arduino course on Coursera entitled “The Arduino Platform and C Programming” from the University of California, Irvine.  I was having a blast with the course, but I really wanted PowerShell interfaces while working on code.  For those that know me, they know that I like my standard interface while developing: conemu: with a split window for each thing I’m developing with vim in the top and powershell on the bottom or a putty session (also in conemu) with two tmux panes with vim on the top and bash on the bottom.

conemu_env.png

I wanted this same setup for Arduino while developing on Windows.  Hence I created the WinArduino project to provide the tools I needed to program the Arduino that can run in my bottom PowerShell pane.

Features

Here’s a list of the two major features in WinArduino:

Compile and Verify

Currently this requires ArduinoIDE to be installed on your system, but I may go deeper and eventually compile/upload directly without it.  For now, it suits my needs by providing a wrapper to the Arudino IDE debug commandline interfaces to compile or compile and upload to my Arduino over USB.

Compiling is done with Invoke-ArduinoVerify and compiling with upload is done with Invoke-ArduinoUpload.

Invoke-ArduinoUpload c:\sketches\Blink\Blink.ino

Serial Input/Output

In the examples folder on the project are some robust examples which include some Arduino sketches to show how you can use PowerShell to either read/debug from serial messages in your Arduino code or how you can use PowerShell as an interface to directly control your Arduino board.  The latter is pretty fun – the example simply lets you write a 0 or 1 to turn off or on an LED, but it really opens the door to a lot of really fun things you can control with PowerShell in the IOT-Arduino world.

Get Started Now!

So what are you waiting for?  Sign up for the coursera course, download the WinArduino module, buy yourself an Arduino kit, and start hacking the electrons in your circuits!

 

Leave a Reply

